The Real Life of the Rookie

Hey guy! Welcome to the intro blog. I’m sorry it took so long to write but our life is different and I have been trying to think if words to describe it.  We are from Houston TX and we are a road school family. That means 3 things:

1)We live in an RV full time.

2)We homeschool the tiny people who live here. 

3)We travel full time. 

We have 4 daughters. That’s right… not 1 boy. Even the cat is a girl. But we love it. My husband is treated like a king and has never complained about the lack of male testosterone around here. Having girls makes life pretty, sparkly, and loud.  I think the loud part is our favorite. There is something about the giggle of a little girl that clears the air and breathes life into our space. 

Then there is my husband and me. My husband (Josh) is a pipe fitter and he travels for work. He is the whole reason we are on this adventure. We chose to follow him everywhere so our family could grow up together. He would be gone for months at a time. He would miss birthdays, holidays, mile stones, and precious memories. He was a good man for making those sacrifices. But we didn’t want good. We wanted great. We have been together for 13 years and married for 11. We had come to realize 1 day that we had 2 separate lives and to us that isn’t what we wanted for our marriage. Our marriage was supposed to be 1 heart, 1 mind, 1 soul, and 1 life together.  So we got a camper and now we have come back together as the gross kissy face couple we were before. And it really did work out to be the best decision we had ever made because we both LOVE to travel and have adventure. And now we have our kids hooked on the thrills to. We surf, fish, bike, hike, skate, and paddle as a family. My kids have pen pals all over America. Our life seems like something out of a book… or a blog… lol… 

Then there is me… The Road School Rookie a.k.a. Lila. And this is my blog about this crazy life. I started this blog to share our craziness, laughter, and everyday wild stories that you just couldn’t make up if you tried. My life is not my own nor about myself and that’s ok. I grew up as an only child to a single mom and I created the life I always wanted. I always wanted a life full of joy, faith, and noise. I wanted joy because as an only child I was lonely and I’m the victim of sexual abuse. I promised my self that my past was never going to hold me back from the joy the Lord promised me and that I deserve. I wanted faith because my mom was never really a teacher of specific faith. She was more agnostic. I wanted specific faith and specific religion. And most of all I wanted noise. It was usually quiet around my house. But when I went to my friend’s houses and I heard all the noise I remember thinking; now this is what life should be. And when it came time to have my own family that what it would be. Thank you for reading our blog. Feel free to comment and let us know how we can pray for you. 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love y’all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

